Posted by: rayandmave | June 21, 2012

Living with Mesothelioma My Diary— Brilliant Scan news today


We had to get to the hospital today so breakfast done and dog walked saw us getting off Canterbury in a somber move as I was preparing  myself up for bad news.

With my tummy very lumpy and sore and bruised from the injections and ankles so swollen I felt things were very wrong. I knew Ray felt the same.

We parked in the P&R and caught the hospital bus.

I went in and booked myself in but a nurse came and said I would be delayed as they had lost my Notes. So we sat patiently waiting.

We people watched as there were several interesting people in the waiting area.

Then the nurse said we have your notes but your scan results are not there so we have chased then and told them it would make a farce of you appointment today.

I said I asked, 10 day ago when they did my scan, would they be ready in time and they said yes.

She said they are so slow but we have chased them now.

At last I was called in to my Doctor who said sh was just saying they might have made us wait but it is good news.

Yes I have shrinkage whoopee!!! I could see the report and every tumour had shrunk from 12cm to 11cm and one had shrink form 17c to 12cm Whoopee.

Good news indeed.

Toni my Macmillan nurse burst into the room.

Good your still here Im so glad I so wanted to see you.

I told here of the shrinkage and they all were amazed -I sure am becoming a long survivor –far longer than they could have thought possible at the beginning.

I told them about the channel 4 interview and told them I have turned it down as 3 months out of my life was to much and I didnt want the titles at the end saying –Mavis Nye died while making this film.

My Oncologist the nurse and Toni were laughing so much and Dr Cominos said too Ray she is terrible.

We carried on talking about my legs and ankles and she has given me a mild diuretic.

She agrees with me that going on waferin is now silly as the clots are gone she said if I can stick at it carry on as with warferin you have to be monitored and the appointment is to late in August as I finish in September needing blood thinners.

So that was it we had gone through all the things that were worrying me and they took the empty Injection needles from Ray.

Toni has something up here self for me to take part in with Macmillan twice a year and said she wants to put my name forward, of coarse I agreed and so I will get an email soon and it will be at Maidstone.

Some sort of support group for me to help in.

I really dont mind what I do to help others understand Mesothelioma.

I proud that they are proud of me and the survival of this disease.

The last bit was Dr Cominos feels that as my body has recovered from the Chemo she is willing when the tumours grow back to treat me on Carboplatin

Carboplatin belongs to the group of medicines known as alkylating agents. It is used to treat cancer of the ovaries. It may also be used to treat other kinds of cancer, as determined by your doctor.

Carboplatin interferes with the growth of cancer cells, which eventually are destroyed. Since the growth of normal body cells may also be affected by carboplatin, other effects also will occur. Some of these may be serious and must be reported to your doctor. Other effects may not be serious but may cause concern. Some effects may not occur until months or years after the medicine is used.

I was over the moon as I had been told no more treatment.

This was great news and also we never know that cure is round the corner –somewhere.

It was lovely to come out laughing and joking –we were all happy.

I got out and Phoned my Son and Daughter in law so they were sharing the good news.

As I share now with all my dear friends and thank you for the hundreds of lovely wishes over the last 24 hours. So many firend behind me –its getting me through xx

We went and bought steak for dinner to celebrate and chicken for Louis.

Rays Blog http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/thursday-7/

Responses

  1. Fantastic news, Mavis. You keep doing it, don’t you? ;-)

  2. Absolutely wonderful news!!!!

  3. I am so , so pleased for you both – am going to raise a small glass in your honour. Have a really marvellous weekend – it has certainly made ours
    Amanda

  4. Mavis, Rita and I are so pleased for you. We can only imagine how you and Ray must be feeling. Good on you for showing them how that “nasty” can be fought and conquered. Good on you girl. See you at Rutland.

    Hugs and kisses,
    Jock & Rita. xxx

  5. Hugs to you, Ray and Louie.xxxx

  6. Congratulations! We wish you all the best and have a great weekend! -Ben

  7. What great news, I’m so pleased for you! x

  8. Such brilliant and happy news Mavis, I am so, so pleased for you, what an amazing lady you are.
    Have a wonderful weekend full of celebrations :)
    Much love
    Sally xxxx

  9. I am so happy for you Mavis you have faught so hard for this you deserve every minit of it. I just wish my husband had been as lucky he passed away Saturday after battling for 9 months.
    Much love
    Teresa x

  10. Well Mavis your indomitable spirit shines through again, lots of love to you and Ray and Louis, Brenda and Tony xxx

  11. What brilliant news, looking forward to finally meeting you at one of the mhf rallies- have followed your progress and you deserve every thing that life can
    give you. Brave? yes yes yes!
    love from Wendy

  12. I have followed your blog since I was first told my husband had meso at Easter this year. I read everything I could about the horrible disease and found the Meso Warrior site. I gained hope from hearing about all the successes and positivity. Unfortunately we only had one month. John died on May 16th. I will continue to follow your blog and wish you all well. Huge congratulations for the scan results. Enjoy every second you have.

  13. Just caught up with this. Well done Mavis keep that possitive attitude and you will be around for years .

    Davexxxx

  14. So pleased for you Mave and glad you had a good weekend too. Love to you both Lesley and Ray xx

  15. Mavis, so pleased and happy for you. Margarette has just reached her 13 month point, still on chemo, but looking good and feeling well. Even putting on weight. She’d now like to meet up with you – we have a caravan so perhaps at a site one weekend? She’s not yet met anyone else with Mesothelioma. I’ve been telling her about your positive attitude – nearly as good as hers!
    very best wishes, Mike C.

  16. Wow Mavis go girl go xxx Excellent news


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

