Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- 4th line Chemo Day 5 Week 2 Kidney Function Test today


IMG_0107

We saw this Bonnyville at the hospital today I could have just climbed on that and do a ton up the mototrway woo!! hoo!!

We had to get up the hospital so early today and I was doing a kidney test. They do this before Chemo usually but I have got underway so I have great hopes it will be fine.

I had a injection of a radioactive fluid and a canular put in and go away for 2 hours.  I used that time by going to Oncology and showing them my arm as it had come up in a hard lump and red veins so I thought I had a clot.

They got a Doc tor to see me said he said it didnt look like a clot nor infection, he thought it might be a scaring from where they had trouble getting a canular in when I had Chemo and it was a bruise coming out, just keep and eye on it. So we went and got a coffee and then go back to nucular medicine where at 10.30 I went in again for a blood test.

Then it was every 40 mins with the last one at 12.30. In the mean time a poor man was having a heart test. They dont put you on a treadmill anymore they give you nucular Med to put the heart under pressure, well the poor man it stimulated his heart to much and he was in dreadful pain. He used the puffer 4 times so I knew he was in trouble. A lady called a nurse and they took him away, We saw him later and he looked so much better Bless!!

We came away so I suggested going to the Garden Centre where they have a lovely restaurant.

We got home and I just sat exhausted.

I had to get ready for 5 as Fliss was coming from the Hospice and put me through my paces of the Breathlessness as Im undergoing a research on the subject of how many lessons you need. Well 1 wouldn’t be enough thats for sure as it is more in depth than I thought.

We start with PSSS Position Shoulders Stomach Slow and with that I escape Panic.

She has left me with 2 DVDS Breathlessness Management and a Relaxation boarding Mediation. I will do them tomorrow and report back.

She went through all that I can do and all that I can ask for.

A fan is a very important piece as it triggers a nerve in my face that will help breath.

She also explained why I keep falling over, a message isnt being sent from my brain to tell my feet where they are. I said it like having  muscular dystrophy and she said thats a good description.

http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Cancerinformation/Livingwithandaftercancer/Symptomssideeffects/Breathlessness/Managingeverydayactivities.aspx

http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Documents/AboutUs/Health_professionals/PrimaryCare/managingbreathlessness.pdf

Breathing techniques

Get into a comfortable position

When you feel breathless, it can help to get in a comfortable position that allows your shoulders and upper chest to relax and lets your diaphragm and tummy expand. This could be:

  • sitting and leaning slightly forward with your forearms resting on your thighs
  • sitting and leaning forward with your head resting on several pillows stacked on a table, and resting your arms on the table on either side of the pillows
  • standing and leaning against a wall
  • standing and leaning forward on to a secure surface.

Breathe gently

Once you’re in a comfortable position, try breathing in through your nose and out gently through your mouth. Some people find it helpful to breathe out through pursed lips – as if blowing out a candle.

Focus on your breathing and count your breath in for three counts and out for four. If you find breathing in through your nose difficult, you can breathe through your mouth instead.

Controlled breathing

Breathlessness can cause you to breathe with the upper chest and shoulder muscles in a fast and shallow way. This can use up a lot of energy and tire you out.

An important part of managing breathlessness is learning a technique called controlled breathing, which uses your diaphragm and lower chest muscles. Controlled breathing can help you to relax and breathe more gently and effectively using lower chest breathing.

Practise these exercises when you’re not feeling too short of breath. You’ll then become familiar with them and can use them when you’re more breathless.

  1. Sit comfortably with your neck, shoulders and back well supported – an upright chair with armrests is ideal.
  2. Relax your shoulders.
  3. Place your hands on your tummy, just below your ribcage.
  4. Give a little cough; the muscle you feel under your hand is your diaphragm.
  5. As you breathe in, you’ll feel your hands rising and being pushed out by your diaphragm and tummy muscles.
  6. As you breathe out, your hands will sink down and in. Try to get a sense of breathing from around the waist rather than from your upper chest, and feel your lungs expand as more air is able to get in.

It may help to sit sideways to a mirror so you can see that your lower chest is moving.

Relax your shoulders and upper chest muscles

When you breathe out, feel your shoulders and upper chest relax. As you breathe in gently, keep your shoulders relaxed. If this is hard to do, ask someone to press down gently on your shoulders to help relieve some of the tension.

Breathe in slowly and out gently, feeling your upper chest muscles relax more and more with each breath out.

It can take a bit of time to get used to these exercises. Try not to force the exercises or expect instant results. Aim for a gradual change from breathlessness to controlled breathing.

Well it was our wedding Anniversary of 53 years but we are so involved in medical things. I will try and make a lovely meal tomorrow

roses for

Leave a Reply

