Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- CT Scan Day


The mornings are chilly and you can feel Autumn is just around the corner but as the day goes on the sun still has a lot of warmth in it.

It was a long day waiting for a 6pm appointment at the hospital for a scan.

First this morning I got up and had breakfast -Knock on the door and Louis barking Oh gosh it was the District Nurse to clean my PICC Line.

I quickly got dressed while she got everything ready but I had things waiting for washing up -Oh gosh she really had caught us on the hop. We settled down and she carried on cleaning the Line and putting new dressings on.

I have booked her for next Thursday so I will make sure Im ready.

We tidied up when she had gone. Ray took Louis for a walk, and tidied the garden and took rubbish to the skip.

After lunch I feel off to sleep. I feel so much better in myself but I do still get very tired.

So I rested until at 4pm it was time to go to Canterbury.

We got to the CT Scan waiting room and that’s when a party started. Everyone was talking and laughing and I assumed they all knew each other -I assumed wrongly.

Two women who it turned out they were just doing the 15min wait after the scan  just to make sure you wasn’t going to react to the contrast. They were having such a good time they didn’t want to rush off.

The couple that were there were very funny and the man had us in stitches as we all put the world to rights. Honest you don’t need a government we could do the job just fine.ha ha !!

It really made the waiting go so quickly as you have to spend  and hour drinking 1 Ltr  of water and I was called in.

They were able to use the PICC Line which pleased me although she couldn’t get the cap off so she put it through the cap ??

All my breath in and holds were done and I could go home.

My appointment to see my Oncologists is Oct 24th so I will wait until then for the results.

It is a worrying time. I laid there today and was talking to the machine –please find stable or even better shrinkage would be wonderful. Please please.

Rays Blog http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/thursday-62/

 

 

One thought on “Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- CT Scan Day

  1. Oh Mavis I have every thing crossed for you but wish you didn’t have to wait so long for the results. That is so cruel, could you bring your oncologist appointment forward at least a week then chase the radiologist up to do the report. I think my heart will be in my mouth by then waiting, as no doubt yours will.
    We are all with you here. xxx

Leave a Reply

