Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- A poem from my Brother and an Invite to be on Sunday Politics what a day.


Please listen to Tracey Crouch -she has been on BBC Radio 4 Talking about the Mesothelioma Bill.

She is such a crusader For Mesothelioma –she is our voice.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03pd2mx

Well after a bad comes a good. Maybe writing my thoughts down does clear my head (a clean slate so as to speak)

I went out to the freezer and it is full of meat so I bought the meat into the indoors freezer and start looking in recipe books. being veggie is ok if you know how to turn vegetables into wonderful meals but I was ending up eating just vegetables and sauces. It gets so dull. So I made Cumberland pie and backed a banana cake and felt real good.

On my Camping group they were talking about  the slow cooker and I had forgotten I have one sitting in the cupboard and here is the answer to some of my cooking worries. Put all the ingredients together and put in the slow cook and leave to turn into a wonderful meal. The girls were talking about a free Kindle book so I have downloaded it and will use some of the lovely recipes to be found here.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00DIHTNDC/ref=oh_d__o00_details_o00__i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It was a lovely day out in the sun but I was working in doors and the day soon goes. We will soon be putting the clocks forward so the days will feel longer and the weather warmer, everything will feel good.

I had an email from my Brother after I wrot about my Chemo brain yesterday. He sent me this lovely poem.

I Can’t Remember

by Anonymous

Just a line to say I’m living

that I’m not among the dead,
Though I’m getting more forgetful
and mixed up in my head

I got used to my arthritis
to my dentures I’m resigned,
I can manage my bifocals
but God, I miss my mind

For sometimes I can’t remember
when I stand at the foot of the stairs,
If I must go up for something
or have I just come down from there?

And before the fridge so often
my poor mind is filled with doubt,
Have I just put food away, or
have I come to take some out?

And there’s a time when it is dark
with my nightcap on my head,
I don’t know if I’m retiring, or
just getting out of bed

So, if it’s my turn to write you
there’s no need for getting sore,
I may think I have written
and don’t want to be a bore

So, remember that I love you
and wish that you were near,
But now it’s nearly mail time
So I must say goodbye, dear

There I stand beside the mail box
with a face so very red,
Instead of mailing you my letter
I opened it instead.———

Oh dear it is just how I feel some days as I try and put the butter back in the fridge and Im standing infront of the oven. Go on the dog walk and leave the letter I was going to post, in doors.

And go shopping and leave the list indoors.

I promise to -do better.

I got another email asking me if I would appear on –Sunday Politics as they are going to cover the Asbestos Bill. I would indeed be so proud as it is the best programe of the week.

I have answered the email and will wait the phone call today to make the arrangements of where I have to go and what I have to do —-watch this space.

http://www.asbestosdiseaseawareness.org/archives/25090

Linda Reinstein has written a piece for her Web site and she has said

This past July, as the Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization(ADAO) was in Washington, D.C. for our Senate staff briefing, I had the opportunity to meet with Dr. David Michaels, Assistant Secretary of Labor for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to discuss asbestos hazards and workers safety, and the need for additional resources to educate and to protect the public from asbestos-related diseases.

I encouraged OSHA to produce a Fact Sheet for asbestos hazards – and it’s here!  The newly updated and extremely informative resource can be found on OSHA’s publications page here!

Highlights of the Asbestos Fact Sheet include information on what asbestos is, where it may be found, OSHA’s standards to protect workers, worker rights and more. Since as early as 1971, OSHA has taken action and enforced regulation to protect workers from the hazards of asbestos.

Sincerest thanks to Dr. Michaels and OSHA for not only taking the time to listen to the stories of countless brave mesothelioma warriors, including those of Mavis, JanelleMichaelLouDebbie, andHeather, but for taking action to educate the public on the hazards of asbestos and, ultimately, prevent future asbestos exposures.

Linda works tirelessly for Asbestos Awareness  — Domani Tripam  A Mesowarrior has written :- Thank you Linda Reinstein for your ongoing efforts to protect us from this hazard! Learn what you need to know to protect yourself on the job. Individual asbestos fibers cannot be seen by the naked eye, which puts workers at an increased risk. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has regulations to protect workers from the hazards of asbestos.”

These words are so true but what I still cannot understand is  why US doesnt Ban Asbestos , we cannot get world banning until the US join us and set the example to the whole world. It is a Global ban that we need.

Rays Blog http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/monday-70/

Leave a Reply

