Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- Slept most of Thursday but awake today


Yesterday went by with me sleeping all day, I hate that feeling of exhaustion but I had given my all the day before as I was  so in my role of Gladiator and demanding what I want in the Interview. I knew this was the biggest thing I had ever done,  Well on the same level as Speaking in the House of Commons, but this will reach so many people that sit and watch Politics on a Sunday.

So I get up have breakfast tidied up and was able to stay awake all morning, but after lunch that was it. I really caught up on sleep and still able to go to bed at 9.30 and slept through to 6am this morning. I hate those days as I feel it is such a waste of life, but to be honest winter is hampering my life at the moment .

Oh hurry up and be spring pleeeeeez!!!!

Tess put on her special page that her scan shocked her and her disease is growing and spreading. The dreaded news that it is new growth. After going through Chemo and all the hurt that brings but to find out it doesn’t stem the beast, that’s heart breaking.

Tess and I are under the same Oncologist so I will be very interested in the treatment she is offered. I have to take in to consideration that My walking is not good so anymore Chemo I keep saying, will have me in a wheelchair, Im still undecided.

Linda  has put the link to Steves trial  http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/cancer-help/trials/a-trial-of-vandetanib-and-selumetinib-for-solid-tumours-including-nsclc-vansel-1

This trial is looking at 2 new drugs called vandetanib and selumetinib for people who have solid tumours including non small cell lung cancer.

This phase 1 trial is in 2 parts.

Part 1 will recruit between 9 and 24 people who have solid tumours. The first few people taking part have vandetanib with a low dose of selumetinib. If they don’t have any serious side effects, the next patients will have a higher dose of selumetinib. And so on, until they find the best dose to give. This is called a dose escalation study.

Part 2 will recruit about 30 people who have non small cell lung cancer. They will all have vandetanib and the highest safe dose of selumetinib found in part 1. In this part of the study, the researchers want to learn more about the side effects and whether having these 2 drugs together helps people with non small cell lung cancer.

Being a Phase 1 trial means it hasnt been trial on humans before so Im to far down the line to start taking risks.

http://www.ukctg.nihr.ac.uk/trialdetails/NCT01843374

You really have to study the Criteria— Recovered from all toxicities associated with prior treatment; – Measurable disease; – Adequate bone marrow, hepatic, and renal function;  –This is why the more Lines and trials we have the damage is down. My last Chemo affected my bone marrow and my one kidney always has to be taken into considerations.

But they are New trials and I wish those that have just had one line all the luck with them.

fire 1

These amazing photos have come from the Australian fires , it has been so hot that storms have started fires but they  have also been started on purpose of BBQs not put out properly or
Cigarettes tossed out of car windows. Please keep safe our Australian friends.
I had a Skype with Lou in Australia and she has been away to miss the worse  of the fires. It was lovely only they couldn’t get the camera to work so she saw me and I could see her, which was a shame but we will try again tomorrow. I will get dressed as Im always in my Pink dressing gown when Im on skype in the morning,
Arsonists have lit 12 of the 68 fires burning across Victoria, with firefighters battling dangerous winds and conditions that are the worst since Black Saturday.
Fire Services Commissioner Craig Lapsley said the 21,000 hectare Grampians fire was so intense that it had “created its own weather”, triggering lightning and spot fires around Halls Gap
Arsonists have lit 12 of the 68 fires burning across Victoria, with firefighters battling dangerous winds and conditions that are the worst since Black Saturday.
Fire Services Commissioner Craig Lapsley said the 21,000 hectare Grampians fire was so intense that it had “created its own weather”, triggering lightning and spot fires around Halls Gap
Leave a Reply

