Living With Mesothelioma-My Diary-Saatchi Bill had a Live Google + Bought my New Wheeler so can throw my walking stick away


Today there was another great discussion on the Saatchi Bill if you have an hour to spare and the need to have treatment when there is no hope

https://plus.google.com/u/0/events/c80kqapi0048lilguoc1idq0934

I have said walk in my shoes if you want to know why we need the Saatchi Bill.

The campaign to gain support is nearly over and then its for the Higher men to work out how we can put it into place. Jeremy Hunt will be sorting it all out.

I have had a link but it doesn’t work so it has to be resent to me of all the recordings we did that day.As soon as I receive them I will publish on my Blog

We have been busy today the usual housework. The computer and Facebook all  take time.

Then Ray suggested I went to sort out a Tri Wheel Walker. We had noticed yesterday that as I walked around Teso and a good speed -for me.

So I sort of agreed Ok I will have a look. We arrived at the Business Park where had had a look before.

There wasnt anyone in the shop so I was able to test run about 6. One was a bright orange and would have suit my mad sense of humour.

There were 4 wheeled ones with a seat but they were a bit to big and bulky for the car.

A man finally appeared and he helped us to higher the handles as Im so tall, it did feel very comfortable.

Nice large wheels to go over rough ground like Motorhome shows and camp site fields.

So that it I gave in but I will be able to get more exercise which I so badly need. Its the real downside of illness. Not having the energy to move around is so bad for you.

I will also be able to walk around Peterborough Motor Home Show -Yipee and look in New Motorhomes. –Oh did I promise I wouldnt buy another one he he he !!!

Schools are back in the headlines

http://www.asbestosexposureschools.co.uk/npaper%20links/H%20of%20C%20questions.htm

 

Lords written answer: Schools Asbestos

Schools: Asbestos. 9 Apr 2014 : Column WA309

Asked by Lord Alton of Liverpool : To ask Her Majesty’s Government what assessment they have made of the report, Asbestos in Schools, published by the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Occupational Safety and Health; what assessment they have made of the view of the Committee on Carcinogenicity of the vulnerability of children to asbestos; what recent figures they have for the incidence of asbestos-related diseases in children and teachers; and when they intend to publish their response to the evidence submitted to their review of policy on asbestos management in schools.[HL6545]

The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Schools (Lord Nash) (Con): The Department for Education is currently reviewing its policy on asbestos management in schools and intends to publish the outcome of the review by the end of June. The scope of the review includes the conclusions of the Committee on Carcinogenicity’s statement on the relative vulnerability of children and the recommendations from the reportAsbestos in Schools: The Need for Action produced by the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Occupational Safety and Health. The Health and Safety Executive publishes figures on asbestos-related deaths—including occupational information—on its website. We do not know of any figures detailing the incidence of asbestos-related diseases in children.

Commons written answer. Schools Asbestos

Mon, 31 March 2014 House of Commons – Written Answer

Dr Huppert: To ask the Secretary of State for Education if he will issue to schools specific guidance on removing asbestos from premises. [193714]

Mr Laws: The guidance from the Health and Safety Executive is that, if asbestos is undamaged and unlikely to be disturbed, then it is usually safer to leave it in place and to manage it as required by the Control of Asbestos Regulations 2012. If asbestos is found to be in an unsealed, damaged or poor condition, then it should be repaired, sealed, enclosed or removed using trained personnel. The Department for Education has no plans to issue school-specific guidance.

2014 is still very much Asbestos and Mesothelioma Aware.

I have been invited to give a presentation at My Cancer Network I have recieved the outline to talk about. It looks good and is right up my street.

(We are trying to focus discussions at the meeting on how patients access services throughout their pathway with a particular interest in getting patients into the system quicker from primary care and then what happens to patients when they are discharged or continue to access services after initial treatment. To hear from you your thoughts about streamlining services for lung cancer patients would be of specific interest.)

I will get writing

 

Leave a Reply

