Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- A huge day for Lord Saatchi In the House of Lords as the Bill gets a Second Reading


I do feel so much better today. Yesterday was still frightening as I kept dropping off to sleep hour after hour.

I have everything written down to show the team Monday. I think my body has been able to fight off infection as the virus was draining. I listened to others that had the virus and knew I felt the same.

I did manage to go with Ray and Louis to the park and had a walk around and played with the dog. I felt very rough. Im over it now drinking coffee here more aware of my surroundings.

So today is sounding good. I have a East Kent Partnership Locality Group Meet at Kent and canterbury Conference rooms.

The Agenda is very interesting with so many speakers.

PET Scans

Clinical Research

Volunteer Services

Benefit advice Scheme

Cancer pathway Events

Kent and Medway Cancer Collaborative

Info Up to date from Strategic Clinical Network.

So you can see we have a very full Agenda to get through.

I love being involved as I like keeping up to date so I can pass on Information to the Mesowarriors.

Today is a huge day in Parliament for the Saatchi Bill and I believe he might even mention me and my struggle for treatment. That will be a very emotional moment if he does, as I so admire him and all he has achieved with the Bill so far.

I wish Lord Saatchi all the luck in the world. There is opposition to his Bill and I hope it will all be ironed out. The Bill is needed by us terminal ill patients of disease. We should be allowed all treatment possible when we have no more hope. We are having to pay so much out in travel to find treatments. We should have more say in Trials as we are desperate and through our desperation they might find a cure for the future,

 http://www.parliamentlive.tv/Main/Player.aspx?meetingId=15576

The Second Reading in the House of Lords of the Medical Innovation Bill starts at 10 am on Friday 27 June 2014.

It can be watched live on the Parliament TV website.

Twenty-two members of the House of Lords have put their names down to speak in the debate. In alphabetical order, they are:

3 thoughts on “Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- A huge day for Lord Saatchi In the House of Lords as the Bill gets a Second Reading

  1. Hi Mave,
    Glad to hear the cold is getting better. Ray’s latest scan hasn’t been that good and we were wondering if it was time to speak to the Marsden. Do you have a contact for a referral at the Marsden. You can email me through our blog ajandray .
    Amanda

  2. Dear Mave

    My mum has just been diagnosed with mesothelioma after suffering a heart attack on Saturday. Shes 58 and my best friend. She has fluid on her lung which the hospital will drain off on monday to test and some more to relieve her discomfort. She will then be refferred to St James hospital in leeds for chemotherapy. We live in west Yorkshire and have not seen/spoken to an oncologist, I assume this will happen at St James? The consultant on the ward told us what it is and I asked for a time limit – he said everyone is different it could be months or a couple of years? Please can you help me??(I have never been on a blog before – I dont know how it works?)

Leave a Reply

