Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- Target was reached today My Birthday so now a new Target 27/8/2015 is set !!!!


Photo: Have a great day! :)

I think it is my Birthday I have had so many lovely messages on facebook I cant thank everyone. Love Facebook and all my cyber friends. 73 today I didnt expect to see it. Thanks to the Royal Marsden I have all thnks to them I can maybe have another year maybe 2 lets make my 80th birthday as my goal. As that would mean Mesowarriors would all be on my drug and living.

DSCF9404A

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A wonderful bouquet of flowers  came from my friends Chris and Sylvia and a lovely notebook from Mr and Mrs W all my IATP friends. hey work so hard to improve the modern day Asbestos training. People should be hurt by it anymore but it is here with us and always will be. Its so frustrating for all of us.

DSCF9403

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We did go out as it was so hot today and the sun was beaming away. So I bought new curtains for the bedroom the first time I have bought the eyelet ones. The design is like the wall art we put up in the Lounge. I have a mania for more delicate designs.

My next purchase is new clothes for myself to wear in Leicester in October.

Im very pleased with my legs as the Compression pop socks are working very well and I have very small ankles again. The legs feel so comfortable as well so thats another problem sorted. I have bought a large E45 as advised by the hospital. It amazes me that a over the counter cream is so good for all skin problems.

In 1952 we released our first product—E45 cream. It was created by a Boots chemist in response to a customer request for a product that would soothe the skin in addition to having protective qualities.

In 1963 physicians noticed E45 cream was a beneficial treatment for dry skin conditions. At this time we only promoted our products to hospital sales departments. It wasn’t until 1980 that E45 cream was introduced to the pharmacy and retail establishments, where it was recognised for its dry skin expertise.

In the 1990’s we extended our product range to include a complete emollient therapy line.  The feedback was so positive that we continued to create products with our customers in mind. We strive to continue to serve our customers needs and produce the very best for all skincare regime needs.

 

A friend has found me a great site in the US where patients are discussing side effects of my trial MK3475. The Pain in the throat is mentioned and itchy skin, dry throat. All have good results but one lady has regrowth after a year. So its not all good news. I will be happy with a year though I will be happy with what ever result but a totally shrinkage is my hope.

2 cases from the forum ——

My wife was on the MK3475 clinical trial from September 2013 to April 2014. For her, the side effects were mild at first, but became progressively more severe: headaches (more or less non-stop, ranging from mild to severe), peripheral neuropathy in her hands (progressing from numbness and tingling to severe pain), fatigue, and loss of appetite. During the past month, tumor progression returned, and so she is now off the trial, but even if the tumor progression had not returned, she would have asked to be taken off of MK3475 because of the side effects. She is being treated at Dana-Farber (where she is getting excellent care), and there are several other patients getting MK3475 there. We were told that, among those patients, my wife’s side effects are among the worst that they have seen.

I have been in a MK3475 trial since June 2013. The side effects have been fairly minor given the significant reduction in tumor size, +80%, that has taken place. Initially I was fatigued after the infusions but that went away after a couple of months. Occasionally I will get chilled after an infusion but this may well be simply the result of the temperature of the liquid. As mentioned above I have a dry mouth on a fairly regular basis. I have also seen an increase in my bowel movements. Until recently I had not experienced any shortness of breath but a weekend trip to outside of Denver changed that, but then going from basically sea level to +6200 ft might cause most people to be short of breath. The biggest side effect has been a pretty severe itchiness toward the end of the biweekly infusions but this is easily treated with Benadryl.
When compared to the side effects of the Chemo regime I went through this is a piece of cake.
Good Luck!

We have lost a Warrior today so sad and there are many in trouble tonight. I light a candle for the passing of , Peter Haywood died at 4am this morning in Rowcroft Hospice, Torquay. He first noticed shortness of breath last Christmas, then in April 2014 he was diagnosed with mesothelioma, an aggressive and as yet incurable cancer caused by asbestos exposure. Many thanks to all those who have been there to offer support over the last few months.—-Our love and sympathy goes to the lovely family of this brave man xxxx

candle and roses

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rays Blog http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2014/08/27/wednesday-99/

Leave a Reply

