Living With Mesothelioma- My Diary- Oh no they say Ebola will get here in the next few weeks.


rain 1

A very wet day this morning

 

 

 

I stayed in and really cleaned the house. The story of Ebola has made me realise that I will be using a lot of bleach. If that does come to UK we must be very clean more so than when flu is around.

I was thinking when in London and having to queue for the loo that we will have to be so careful.

Our Local Lions  are having a meeting tonight and will then issue a flyer  as we have the chance again to raise money to help combat mesothelioma. The Fashion Show will be at the Seasalter Christian Centre on Wednesday, 26 November.2014.and will raise funds for research. I will help out of coarse as they want me to receive the cheque to pass onto the charity they chose.

I will auction my book that night and a dragon fly.

I had a phone call from my Doctor at the Royal Marsden. Elisa Fontana. She is a dainty as her name bless her.

She has had my results back on my Urine sample and I have an infection. She had tried to phone my GP ___Your going to love this. She couldnt get past the receptionist. Oh how we know that problem.

I said I will email and so she emailed the report and what Antibiotics I could have.

I immediately emailed this onto my GP and he sent a reply to say he had actioned it and the prescription was with the chemist for delivery.

While Elisa was on the phone I asked her if I could have the report of my Scans and she said I could ask for print offs when Im there on drug days so I must remember to ask a nurse to do that for me.

I also received a great Newsletter from Asbestos Justice   http://www.asbestosjustice.co.uk/justice-newsletter-issue-2-october-2014/

They have  covered Jeremy Steele one of my Heros and my London Doctor. I have mentioned him so many times

 

Jeremy is Co-Director of Bart’s Mesothelioma Research. He is a Consultant in Medical Oncology at St Bartholomew’s Hospital, the Royal London Hospital and the London Chest Hospital.

He qualified in medicine at St George’s Hospital, London in 1989. After training in general medicine and intensive care, he moved to the Royal Marsden Hospital where he treated his first mesothelioma patient.

At the Institute of Cancer Research he undertook doctoral research into paediatric leukaemia and brain tumours. Jeremy moved to Bart’s in 1997 where he has worked closely with Robin Rudd ever since. In 2000 he was awarded the Royal Society of Medicine Sylvia Lawler Prize.

Jeremy is a member of the Board of Directors of the International Mesothelioma Interest Group and numerous other mesothelioma clinical and research groups in the UK and abroad.

Contact Dr Jeremy Steele

Email: jeremy.steele@ bartsandthelondon.nhs.

Credit: Mesothelioma.co.uk

 

And Dean fennel wrote about a trial that runs until next year 31/01/2015 so dont hesitate if you need a trial.

6

This month we are featuring MESO 2. A trial of Ganetespib with Pemetrexed and cisplatin or Carboplatin for Pleural Mesothelioma.

This trial looks at a drug called Ganetespib alongside standard chemotherapy for mesothelioma in the covering of the lungs. The trial is supported by Cancer Research UK.

In this trial, researchers want to see if they can improve the treatment of Pleural Mesothelioma by adding a drug called Ganetespib.

Ganetespib is a type of biological therapy called a heat shock protein 90 inhibitor. It stops signals that cancer cells use to divide and grow.

The aims of this trial are to:

  • Find the best dose of Ganetespib to give alongside Pemetrexed and Cisplatin or Carboplatin
  • See how well this combination of drugs works as treatment for Pleural Mesothelioma

Trial Design

This trial is in 2 stages. The first stage is a phase 1 trial. The researchers want find the best dose of Ganetespib to give with Pemetrexed and Cisplatin or Carboplatin. To do this they will give the first 3 people a low dose of Ganetespib with the usual doses of Pemetrexed and Cisplatin or Carboplatin. If they don’t have any problems, the next 3 people have a higher dose of Ganetespib. And so on, until they find the best dose to give. This is called a dose escalation study.

The second stage is a phase 2 trial. It is randomised. The people taking part are put into treatment groups by a computer. Neither you nor your doctor will be able to decide which group you are in.

  • Group A have Ganetespib, Pemetrexed and Cisplatin or Carboplatin
  • Group B have Pemetrexed and Cisplatin or Carboplatin

You have Ganetespib, Pemetrexed, Cisplatin and Carboplatin as a drip into a vein. You have Pemetrexed and Cisplatin or Carboplatin once every 3 weeks and Ganetespib twice every 3 weeks. Each 3 week period is called a cycle of treatment.You can have up to 6 cycles.

If you are in the group having Ganetespib, after 4 cycles of treatment your doctor may talk to you about continuing with Ganetespib only, if they feel you are benefiting from it.

The researchers will ask for blood samples and a sample of tissue from the biopsy you had to diagnose your mesothelioma. They will use these samples to find out more about mesothelioma and how to treat it. If you don’t want to give these samples for research, you don’t have to. You can still take part in the trial.

Pg 8 - Trial Img

Trial Details

Recruitment: Start 21/08/2013

End 31/01/2015

Phase: Phase 1/2

Chief Investigator: Professor Dean Fennell

Full Credit: Cancer Research UK

There are lots more info so please read the Newsletter

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

