Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- MK 3475 Drug Day Wales denies the NHS Patients are flocking to the UK.


OMG what weather we travelled up to the Royal Marsden.

I was up at 4.30am in the pitch black with the wind blowing as  the Tail-end of Hurricane Gonzalo hit UK

But we did get to the hospital far to early as funny enough there wasnt one hold up with the traffic. We had a coffee then went to the ward where I booked in where all the nurses were singing out ” Hello Mavis you look so welll ” gosh yes you do look so well” It tickles me thats they even remember my name let alone my Trial and the good results Im having.

I then went to the waiting room.

After a long wait I was called in and had my bloods taken, my PICC line cleaned, weighed and blood pressure taken.

I did a sample of urine as I had a water infection last time.

Then back to the waiting room to wait to be seen by the doctor.

Ray and I both nodded and I did fall off to sleep for a minute.

The Doctor finally called me in and it was another new one. There is a team and I get to see a new one every month. This is because they are from other countries and come here tothe Marsden to train in Cancer treatments.

I really dont mind as a) they are learning about Mesothelioma and b) its great they are so enthusiastic.

She said my bloods were fine and I was keeping so well through the trial. I asked about the shrinkage The answer shocked me — she said I have —43% altogether. 33% on the first scan and 10% 4 weeks later.

She held her small finger up and said the marker one was this long at the start and half of that now, then there is a shrinkage in every area including the mass at the bottom of my lung.

I said no wonder you are all so happy about this its brilliant.

She said my bloods showed my sugars were low and I had a test with a prick to my finger. But they had risen back by then.

We went to the Cafe and had a cake and coffee then walked back to the waiting room where we got so bored waiting for my drug to be made.

Finally at 3.30pm I was called in to have my drug.

mars1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That only takes 30mins and then a flush of 5 and Im out, finished, and on my way home.

It was really windy and as we pulled up into our car park the heavens opened.Ray got soaked as he took Louis for a walk and I cooked dinner, while he was gone.

There was a parcel for Louis from Christine Winters. Louis sniffed it and carried it around for a while. I opened it and it was home made dog biscuits which he loved .

DSCF9487

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF9488

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that was the day.

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/welsh-governments-remarkable-response-daily-7967737

Everyone referred by their GP via the urgent suspected cancer route is put on a 62-day pathway, during which all investigations (tests) are carried out. This is the same in Wales and in England.

“The target in Wales is for 95% of patients newly diagnosed with cancer via the urgent suspected cancer route to start definitive treatment within 62 days from GP referral. In the first quarter of 2014-15 (April to June) 87.4% of patients were seen within that time.

“The target in England is for 85% of patients newly diagnosed with cancer via the urgent suspected cancer route to start definitive treatment within 62 days. In the first quarter of 2014-15 (the latest figures available), 84.1% of patients were seen within this target.

“There is also a 31-day cancer pathway in England and Wales.”

“For patients newly diagnosed with cancer not via the urgent route the target in Wales is that 98% should start definitive treatment within the target time of 31 days. In the first quarter of 2014-15 (April to June) 98.1% of patients were treated within 31 days.

“In England, figures for the first quarter of 2014-15 (the latest figures available) show 97.8% of people treated began first definitive treatment within 31 days of receiving their diagnosis.

“The border between England and Wales is a porous one – patients from England and Wales receive care from the health services on either side of the border. It is therefore concerning that the Care Quality Commission has put the Wye Valley NHS Trust into special measures and rated Hereford County Hospital as inadequate.

“Indeed, the CQC has said that four out of five hospitals it has inspected are not safe. Its annual report, published on October 17, said: Safety was the biggest concern: four out of every five safety ratings were inadequate or requires improvement… far too many hospitals were inadequate on safety and the majority required improvement to be considered safe.’

Please read all the response.

http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2014/10/21/tuesday-116/ Rays Blog sun 1

 

One thought on “Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- MK 3475 Drug Day Wales denies the NHS Patients are flocking to the UK.

Leave a Reply

