Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- New Coat and Apointment came through for my Short Synacthen Test


dragon fly painting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had been working through into the early hours and  so I thought I would lay in but of coarse I didnt. I had reset my computer and taken Chrome off to see if the computer speeded up.

I went back to Firefox and it now zips along as I work. Only thing is you have to re-enter passwords and of coarse I haven’t always written then into my note book.

Then this morning some of the Meswarriors group cover pictures had gone so I had to re load photos and pictures in.

But Im still very happy with the speed and to think we were going to go and buy another hard drive.

I did make lunch and we went out for I wanted to buy another coat as I have two trips to London and one to Plymouth as well as Going out Christmas. I love my M&S coat but I’m always in it and it is cream so I have to wash it often as it shows the dirt very quickly.

We stopped at a dog walk for Louis, great he ran off with his toy that we throw and stopped dead at the flooded road. So much water around already we dread to think what the winter will be like as the water table must be full.

Off we went to Georges at Asda, the traffic was at a stand still as people must be out Christmas shopping.

I found a lovely red coat and I carried on shopping for little bits I had run out of.

We got back home and the afternoon had gone.

Cooked Dinner, I made a chicken tikka  that was a little bit spicy. This sets Rays nose to run. he he !!!

So thats it Saturday is almost over.

The Appointment came for Tuesday at St Georges Thomas Addison Unit for a Short Synacthen Test

This test is carried out to assess the function of the adrenal gland.

The adrenal glands are tiny organs that rest on top of each kidney. Despite their small size, the adrenal glands play an important role in the body, producing numerous hormones that impact our development and growth, affect our ability to deal with stress, and help to regulate kidney function.
The cortex, the outer portion of the adrenal glands, produces several hormones that affect blood pressure and blood sugar levels, growth,

Because the hormones released from the adrenal glands are so important to the overall functioning of your body, adrenal disorders can have serious consequences on your health. Tumors of the adrenal glands can secrete excess hormones, causing an increase in blood pressure or heart rate and reducing immune function. Disorders that result in decreased adrenal gland function, such as autoimmune diseases or cancer, can lead to low blood sugar and heart failure.
I have been testing my blood sugars and the figures have neen in the norm but I did have a funny feeling just before lunch so I tested my blood and it was 3.6. Not dangerous but it had dropped from 5.5.
I pray this doesnt mean I have to come off the drug and that they can balance everything out for me.

Read more : http://www.ehow.com/about_4571567_function-adrenal-gland_.html

Synacthen injection contains the active ingredient tetracosactide. This is a man-made version of a hormone produced naturally by the body called adrenocorticotrophic hormone (ACTH).

Natural ACTH is produced by the pituitary gland in the brain. It acts on the adrenal glands, which are found on top of the kidneys, and causes these glands to produce steroid hormones. These include glucocorticoids such as cortisol and mineralocorticoids such as aldosterone.

Tetracosactide is used to test if the adrenal glands are functioning correctly.

Tetracosactide acts on the adrenal glands in the same way as natural ACTH. This means if the adrenal glands are healthy, a single injection of tetracosactide will cause the adrenal glands to produce its hormones, including cortisol, and this can be measured in the blood. If there is a problem with the adrenal glands themselves, the level of cortisol in the blood will not rise, or will only rise a little. This test is known as the short Synacthen test or Synacthen stimulation test.

If the test shows that the adrenal glands appear not to be working (this is called adrenal insufficiency), then further tests will be needed to determine if this is caused by diseased or damaged adrenal glands (primary adrenal insufficiency) or by a problem with the pituitary gland (secondary adrenal insufficiency). Synacthen depot is used for these further tests.

What is it used for?

  • Testing if the adrenal glands are working properly. This test can be used to rule out underactive adrenal glands (Addison’s disease).

How is this test given?

  • The short Synacthen test can sometimes be done by your GP, or you may need to go into the hospital endocrinology clinic for it.
  • Before the test a blood sample will be taken to measure the level of cortisol in your blood.
  • The Synacthen injection will then be given into a muscle or a vein in your arm.
  • 30 minutes after the Synacthen injection another blood sample will be taken to measure the level of cortisol in your blood.

Warning!

  • This injection can sometimes cause allergic reactions, including marked redness and pain at the injection site, hives, itching, flushing, faintness, shortness of breath and, rarely, collapse (anaphylaxis). You will need to be kept under observation for about 30 minutes after the Synacthen injection is given so that any reactions can be treated if necessary.
  • If you feel dizzy or get blurred vision after you have been given Synacthen injection, do not drive or operate machinery until these effects have worn off.
The wonderful photo for this weekend is this one
Just remembering xx
Leave a Reply

