Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- Finished shopping for Christmas and Vivien Westwood made a protest.


The weather has been so mild the last 2 days which means we have been able really get everything finished for Christmas.

Im feeling good and looking forward to Christmas with the family.

We had to go out to get my Toffee Vodka but the shops are not stocking it. Why ??? I have a great recipe for it though.

http://www.rosalilium.com/2011/10/how-to-make-toffee-vodka/

1. You will need a bottle of vodka (the cheap stuff is fine), a packet of Werther’s Original and a sterilised Mason Jar.

Toffee Vodka Ingredients

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/vivienne-westwood-and-son-attempt-to-deliver-asbestos-to-david-cameron-in-protest-against-fracking-9933525.html

Fashion designer Vivienne Westwood  (we went to the same school – Rochester Technical School )attempted to deliver a parcel of asbestos to David Cameron.

The 73-year-old and her business man son Joseph Corre were at Downing Street campaigning about the potential health risks linked to fracking.

Mr Corre, whose father Malcom McLaren died of cancer due to asbestos, and his mother said the technique of extracting oil and gas could become “the next asbestos or thalidomide”.

They turned up outside the gates of Downing Street with a Santa Claus wearing a gas mask to deliver a box of asbestos – but police did not allow the “present” through.

But I do hope there wasnt any Asbestos in the gas Mask the Father Christmas is wearing.

It was used in the filter in the wartime and it is found in the gas masks in museums etc etc.

But at least Asbestos is in the news and maybe something will be done about this horrible material as we have lost anothe Mesowarrior today.

candle 2

 

 

 

 

 

I light the Mesowarriors Candles for Andrea Bayles-Gungabissoon Brave and courageous warrior.and a wonderful father and husband and Grandfather
He lost his battle today, having had both Mesothelioma and Lung Cancer which is a rarer thing to happen.

The angels looked down from heaven one night
They searched for miles afar,
And deep within the distance
They could see a shining star.

They knew that very instant
That the star was theirs to gain,
So they took you up to heaven
Forever to remain.

Look down on us from heaven
Keep us free from hurt and pain,
You’ll always be within our heart
Until we meet again.

This really hurts as Andria was in our Calender and is one of the core of Warriors that were around Debbie. He was ill when I started this journey and so I feel theirs so badly.

I did tell my Doctor I was suffering from Survivor guilt. When people are in, and survive a train accident they get survivor guilt and that’s how I feel. She wanted me to talk to someone but I said no Im just telling you how a patient on this drug feels. Gosh I have the support of the Mesowarriors they are all I need. we talk about all out thoughts and fears I also write all my thoughts and fears on hear. I dont need a Psychiatrist. I self Anallise anyway.

I had a email :-
People over 65 with cancer in the UK experience poorer outcomes than those in the rest of Europe. This is unacceptable. Macmillan Cancer Support has established an Expert Reference Group to investigate how we can change things.
It is important that the views of older people directly influence the work of this group. Macmillan is working with the Young Foundation to develop ideas for how to do that. The Young Foundation is therefore looking to interview people who are over 65, living with cancer and interested in the topic in January 2015. All interviews will take 30-60 minutes, and will be confidential with no names or personal details to be shared with people outside the research team. The results of these interviews will help influence the work of the group.

If you are interested in hearing more about this work or if you would like to be involved, please contact

You know me I get involved and answered of coarse so another email came through :-

Dear Mavis,
Thank you for your email and it would be great to have your involvement and schedule an interview with you for this project.
I am copying in my colleague Peter who will be conducting the interviews and will be in touch to schedule a convenient time.
In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.
Many thanks,

So that will be interesting in the New Year.

Rays Blog http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

