Living With Mesothelioma-My Diary-yet another talking shop on chrysotile (white) asbestos.’ ADAO Asbestos Awareness Week 1st April


Sunday was such a wash out for me as the weather was awful. So much rain and cold wind just makes my outdoor life impossible. I really have got to get myself into shape and stronger. I had resigned myself to dieing and yet I have survived 6 years now. I have got to resign myself that Im living that I do have a future if only another year I need to really get a hold of my life and turn it around to really having a good time.

Camping will help soon but really I have allowed old age to take my body over when I had been so active before and had really worked at getting through old age with a fit body.

I should make a plan and stick to it.

Keep fit Acorn

My story is featuring in the ADAO Advertising for their conference that will start off with Asbestos Week

Hear Asbestos Think Prevention GAAW Square

Treatment is at the Royal Marsden in Surrey.Every two weeks I have a half hour infusion. of the MK3475 and I will carry on as long as I get shrinkage which so far is almost 60%, and my body still tolerates the drug

I’m just an ordinary woman who married at 18 and washed my husband’s clothes as he came home from work at the Chatham Dockyard as a Shipwright. I didn’t know the powder on Ray’s clothes was anything other than dust bought home from work. I shook his clothes and then put them in the washing machine. Forty-eight years later I find I have mesothelioma and a death sentence of 3 months. http://www.asbestosdiseaseawareness.org/archives/31580

Something is going on today and tomorrow

On Monday and Tuesday of next week, March 30 and 31, 2015, asbestos lobbyists will be hosted in Geneva at the expense of European taxpayers.1 The European Union is underwriting the costs of bringing nineteen asbestos industry and government stakeholders to Europe to take part in yet another talking shop on chrysotile (white) asbestos. Given the unproductive outcome of so many previous encounters, it belies belief that yet more money – and OUR money at that – is being thrown at people who represent an industry which peddles death and pollution around the globe.2 Amongst the guests are individuals representing asbestos industry trade associations from India (Mr. Vivek Chandra Rao Sripalle, Asbestos Cement Products Manufacturers Association), Ukraine (Mr. Oleksandr Sierkin, Association Ukrainian Chrysotile Corporation) and Zimbabwe (Mr. Shame Chibvongodze, Zimbabwe National Chrysotile Taskforce).

The Technical Workshop on Chrysotile Asbestos is being organized by the Rotterdam Convention Secretariat for countries which produce, export and/or consume chrysotile asbestos. Of the twelve stakeholder countries taking part,3 seven – Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan Zimbabwe, Kyrgyzstan, Vietnam and India – blocked the inclusion of chrysotile asbestos on Annex III of the Rotterdam Convention in 2013; substances on this list are subjected to minimal global trade regulations.

An article about next week’s meeting entitled: “Farcical Technical Workshop on Chrysotile in Rotterdam Convention” was uploaded today (March 26, 2015) to the website of the Building and Woodworkers International. It is quite explicit about its view of the industry freebie:

“The asbestos mafia will ensure that the concerns of the industry are heard and will shout down anyone who disagrees with them. Their vested interests prevent them from accepting the international scientific consensus on the need to use safer substitutes for deadly chrysotile asbestos. Just like the tobacco industry, the politics of denial of risk and the drive for profits blinds them to reasoned arguments.”4

http://ibasecretariat.org/lka-uproar-over-un-asbestos-debacle.php

The European Union is underwriting the costs of bringing nineteen asbestos industry and government stakeholders to Europe to take part in
Comment: Hard to come to grips with this, realistically it is a good opportunity to lock these industrial murderers up and throw away the key! It is not rocket science to understand that asbestos kills people, so therefore, those who supply it and proliferate its use, are nothing less than murderers! – Rod Smith BBF

Rod is so right and it infuriates me when UKIP have added to their Manifesto that they are going to

The ‘UKIP Agriculture Policy: Overview’ published in March 2014 states that ‘UKIP will get rid of unnecessary regulations’ specifically including the ‘Hazardous’ classification of asbestos cement.

After months of investigation UKIP experts have confirmed that the HSE’s regulation for the handling and disposal of asbestos cement products, as found in large quantities on farm buildings nationwide, was based on totally false science.  The ‘UKIP Agriculture Policy: Overview’ published in March 2014 states that ‘UKIP will get rid of unnecessary regulations’ specifically including the ‘Hazardous’ classification of asbestos cement, whereas blue and brown asbestos will, quite rightly, remain under strict control.
http://www.asbestoswatchdog.co.uk/news/most-recent/21-03-2014/UKIP-lead-the-way-on-asbestos-by-pledging-to-reclassify-Asbestos-Cement-as-Non-Hazardous-Waste-for-farmers-in-their-2014-Manifesto
I came up with a good advert for DIY in the home as

Matty Dixon is selling these items ——-This is what you need today working with Asbestos and yet we do DIY with just a cloth mask. The ordinary House Owner when Dry Stripping Artex etc etc puts themselves in so much dangerasbestos gear

Its Easter this weekend and so a timely remind to protect yourself against Asbestos as you work around the house DIYing.

Rays Blog –https://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2015/03/29/sunday-114/?fb_action_ids=902823993071752&fb_action_types=news.publishes&fb_ref=pub-standard

2 thoughts on “Living With Mesothelioma-My Diary-yet another talking shop on chrysotile (white) asbestos.’ ADAO Asbestos Awareness Week 1st April

  1. I am so afraid of where I live. I lived in stucco up until yesterday because for the last 3 weeks they removed the stucco and replaced it with wood. My father passed away from asbestos so I look out for these type things. My son had surgery on March 10th. It was day surgery. When we came home there was white dust all in our breeze way and I hurried him in the house. The next day I smelled a strange smell coming from my front door. I asked the manager if they had tested for asbestos and she ignored the question. They were outside my dining room window tearing off the stucco and broke my window with little pieces of stucco and glass coming into my home. I was furious.. They fixed immediately using putty to seal it with. I am super nervous for my son and family. I have saved a little to have it tested myself. Thank you for this video. I have learned much… With Love Tina …

    • Tina Im so sorry i have just found this comment. I do hope that wasnt asbestos workmen are very careless with it and are still contaminating themselves and people around them. I hope your son has recovered well xx

Leave a Reply

