Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- ADAO Asbestos Awareness Week Starts -British Lung Foundation Letter and Lou’s Message


Tomorrow is April 1st and ADAO start their Asbestos Awareness week in the US. I will be playing a part alongside The British Lung Foundation http://www.blf.org.uk/Home

British Lung Foundation

I was their centerfold In their annual review 2012/2013 and also made a Video for their Take Five Stay Alive. Campaign

Im very proud of this work so when I was asked to help with a letter they will be sending out to all the Working Mans Clubs to ask for club members to consider supporting the British Lung Foundation.

Dear Sir/Madam,
“I never gave a second thought to washing my husband’s work clothes back in the 1960’s. Little did I know that it would cause me to develop mesothelioma 50 years later.” Mavis Nye, diagnosed with mesothelioma in 2009.
Unfortunately Mavis is not alone. 2,400 people die of mesothelioma each year in the UK.
Mesothelioma is a type of cancer which affects the chest and lungs, mainly caused by past exposure to asbestos dust. The disease takes a long time to develop and in the majority of cases people were innocently exposed to asbestos dust in their workplace many years ago. Hardworking carpenters, plumbers, painters and builders were unknowingly risking their lives on a daily basis to provide for their families. Sadly, like Mavis, their families were also put at risk through the fibres they carried home on their clothes.
There is no currently no cure for mesothelioma and over the next 30 years 60,000 people will die from this devastating disease unless new treatments are found. Despite this, funding into research is extremely low. Here at the British Lung Foundation we feel passionately that more should be done. We are committing at least £1million into research over the next two years, but to do this we need your help.
We’d be very grateful if you and your club members would consider supporting the British Lung Foundation. Perhaps you could organise a raffle at your next Club meeting, or hold a collection to raise funds. Every penny raised will make a real difference. As well as funding research into mesothelioma and other lung diseases, we also support anyone affected by any lung condition by providing support services and campaigning for change. If you’d like any more information, or would like to talk to us about your fundraising plans then please call the fundraising team on 020 7688 5615 or email events@blf.org.uk.
Support us and you will be making a real difference to the life of someone like Mavis and the millions of other people affected by lung disease in the UK.
With best wishes,

I was so pleased to help and then ADAO wanted to alsoAdd BLF to their Global Asbestos Awareness Week

Look at Day 4 so that has all worked out so well.

Another message was published as well it was from Lou. I dont like to believe that she is dieing and so I find the dieing message very hard to take. We have lost far to many Warriors and Lou Messaged me once for talking about her getting so bad. But she has the same Meso as Our wonderful Warrior Jan Eggerton who we lost 2014.

Jan like Debbie was so close to me and we nattered away on the Computer until the day before their deaths. Its not easy to talk about staying positive when you know the end is so near. I miss them both and now here we have Lou talking the same way,

http://www.asbestosdiseaseawareness.org/archives/32330

Posted on March 31, 2015

“I Will Not Die in Vain” – Louise’s Story

Ruby & Louisa Aug 2013

I want to start this blog with the facts. I’m dying from mesothelioma. But I refuse to die in vain. If there is one wish I have, it’s that the main legacy of asbestos warriors like me will be that we helped create a foundation for a global ban on asbestos. I lost my father to it. I’ve attended over 60 funerals of victims who died from asbestos disease. Enough is enough.

Since my father was first diagnosed in 1985 at the age of 54, dying less than a year later, I was determined to do something to make a difference. Since my own diagnosis in 2003 and subsequent battle with meso, I have continued my passion for global awareness and unity. Only in unity can we truly ban this horrific and lethal mineral.

As I write this, enjoying each moment of each precious day – which have become even more precious to me as I reach the final stages of my journey – I am struck with hope. I still have hope that we will one day, in the not too distant future, see a world without asbestos.

Global Asbestos Awareness Week is coming up April 1 – April 7.  As the Australian Director of the Global Ban Asbestos Network (GBAN), Social Media Awareness Officer of the Asbestos Diseases Foundation of Australia (ADFA), and volunteer for the Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO), I am passionate about how powerful this effort really is. Asbestos knows no geographic boundaries. It doesn’t discriminate. It is a killer. And it’s time to stop it in its tracks.

There are a series of presentations and many opportunities to get involved over the course of this week. I want to share the “Top Five Asbestos Facts” –  as they  highlights some of the most important facts about asbestos and why we need a ban:

FACT 1:  Asbestos is a known human carcinogen and there is no safe level of asbestos exposure.

FACT 2:  Only 55 countries have banned asbestos. The United States and Canada are the only two industrial western nations not to ban asbestos.

FACT 3:  Top 4 asbestos producers reported by USGS in 2014 are:  Russia (1,050,000), China (400,000), Brazil (291,000), Kazakhstan (240,000) *metric tons.

FACT 4:  More than 107,000 people die each year from asbestos-related diseases.

FACT 5:  While promising research continues, prevention remains the only cure for mesothelioma and other asbestos-caused diseases.

I will not die in vain. Asbestos, one day your funeral will also come, and it will be a time for rejoicing and bidding you a very hearty farewell.

Remember, there is power in unity. And with unity, we will one day see a global asbestos ban.

With Love,

Lou Williams

I pray we will still have Lou here with us next year to write a message for 2016. Stay Positive Lou.

Rays Blog

mVittNdr85ebPgBS8oc7Lfw (525 x 392)

https://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2015/03/31/tuesday-136/?fb_action_ids=903821196305365&fb_action_types=news.publishes&fb_ref=pub-standard

Leave a Reply

