Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary- Goodnight to a Dear Mesothelioma Warrior in Australia Trying to explain why #Asbestos causes Cancer


VW T4 Autosleeper Clubman Grande Luxe

As the sun was shining yesterday I took advantage to clean the Motor Home. Ray helped me to get the buckets of water and i washed the winter dirt off. I had bought some patio cleaner as that had been recommended by my Motor Home Forum. It worked and made the job so easy as the black marks came off. I threw the last water left in the bucket and it all blew back over me. The wind was very cold and strong.

Then washed out the inside and polished the toilet so everything looks so good for the visit to Peterborough Motor Home Show this weekend.

I love going and meeting people we haven’t seen for so long now. A good meet up and a good gossip in the Marque and around the show. Im hoping I have more strength this year as last year I was so weak and walking with my walker. I will need the stick to keep my balance as i do get tired, its a long day.

This is the show where we bought the M/H 5 years ago so I know the cam-belt needs changing which will be done on Wednesday along with the MOT.

The job done i came back in doors, cooked dinner and that was it I woke up at 3pm. Couldn’t believe when i as then back to sleep at 6. How can you get so exhausted, I hate it.

I at long last have someone i can compare how I feel with as Lou and I message each other. She and another warrior are going through the same Immunotherepy drug but in Australia. It isn’t a trial like mine so they are having to fund it themselves.

They do get help as the drug is $6000 per session. It is funded for $4000. That is  £3119 funded by £2079 so leaving them to pay £1040 per session. Every 3 weeks makes it expensive but of coarse you pay it is a chance if it works.This is why where compensation comes in handy for paying towards treatment here and in the US thank god for our NHS. If we had a private system we would have to pay and treatment nowadays is getting more high tec and therefore more expensive.

Lou describes different symptoms to me of what sounds more like a chest infection. She also uses oxygen which I dont and of coarse she has both Lung and Peritoneal Mesothelioma which I haven’t I have just Lung.

The drug has only been used on peritoneal once in the trial but the results were good. It is working on all types of mesothelioma in the states.

The other warrior has symptoms like me. Water retention. It is the fluid build up I suffer with. See as I have been the only one I had nothing to compare to so I have been blaming all my pains and fluid retention on the fact my body has had to much chemo. I can see I could be wrong. I wear support socks permanently even in bed. I take a water tablet now and again to try and move the fluid and not hurt my kidney. So to find someone else is suffering this way makes it easier for me.I dont feel so alone.

We did loose a lovely Australian man yesterday. I have been following his decline. He and his wife were great friends of Rod and were involved in the Bernie Banton Foundation. Rod and Karen have been visiting and so I was aware of the fact Neil was fading fast.

It still comes as a shock when you read — Today at 1:55am Neil lost his battle but put up a hard fight, our hearts are shattered I’ve lost my life long friend, soul mate our sons have lost the best dad ever … I have no other words

Will it ever stop. Will Asbestos be a thing of the past. I fear not this substance is out of control in our lives.

Because so much money is needed and because each Government will not get to grips with the problem each person has asbestos in their lungs. Its all down to whether you have the cancer gene that you either end up suffering with Mesothelioma or not. I still have a theory that Asbestos is the cause of most cancers.

While the term “asbestos cancer” most often refers to mesothelioma, a number of other cancers are associated with asbestos exposure. Lung cancer can be directly caused by asbestos exposure, and some studies have suggested a link between exposure and other types of cancer. Elevated risks for a number of other cancers continue to be investigated. According to the World Health Organization, approximately half of all deaths from occupational cancer are caused by asbestos.

In a large study of 1,047 asbestos industry employees, a malignant neoplasm was listed as the official cause of death for 208 workers. Respiratory cancers (primarily in the bronchus, trachea or lung) made up the majority of the cancer deaths, followed by cancers of the digestive organs and peritoneum.

Ovarian  Cancer is the latest one to come into the picture frame due to the fact Asbestos was  in talcum powder.

Researchers addressed the paradox of how asbestos fibers that kill cells could cause cancer, since a dead cell should not be able to grow and form a tumor. They found that when asbestos kills cells, it does so by inducing a process called “programmed cell necrosis” that leads to the release of a molecule called high-mobility group box 1 protein (HMGB1). HMGB1 starts a particular type of inflammatory reaction that causes the release of mutagens and factors that promote tumor growth. The researchers found that patients exposed to asbestos have elevated levels of HMGB1 in their serum. Therefore, they state that it may be possible to target HMGB1 to prevent or treat mesothelioma and identify asbestos-exposed cohorts by simple HMGB1 serological testing.

In the article, the researchers propose that by interfering with the inflammatory reaction caused by asbestos and HMGB1, it may be possible to decrease cancer incidence among cohorts exposed to asbestos and decrease the rate of tumor growth among those already affected by mesothelioma. Drs. Yang and Carbone, the lead authors, state that to test this hypothesis, they are now planning a clinical trial in a remote area in Cappadocia, Turkey, where over 50% of the population dies of malignant mesothelioma. If the results are positive, the approach will be extended to cohorts of asbestos-exposed individuals in the U.S.

This research emphasizes the role of inflammation in causing different types of cancers and provides novel clinical tools to identify exposed individuals and prevent or decrease tumor growth. The researchers question if it will be possible to prevent mesothelioma, like colon cancer, simply by taking aspirin or similar drugs that stop inflammation. They are about to test this hypothesis.

Rays Blog https://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2015/04/12/sunday-115/

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/06/100629094153.htm

http://www.asbestos.com/cancer/

Leave a Reply

