Living With Mesothelioma-My Diary-Rays Visit to the Tonometry, Horrific Asbestos Photos from Australia, and Mesothelioma Awareness at the Soap Awards


Summer is nearly here as the sun shines.

The power has been connected so the workmen are nearly finished. The hole’s still have to be filled in but at least the power is stable again.

Ray had to have his eyes tested with the pressure tester. A routine part of every routine eye exam that measures the fluid pressure inside the eye. The test is called tonometry. Increased pressure within the eye can be a sign of glaucoma, a common and potentially very serious eye problem, if it is not detected and treated promptly.

The pressure inside the eye is measured from the outside. The pressure can be measured without anything touching the eye. The patient looks up close at an instrument that blows a small puff of air into the eye and then uses a special kind of sensor (like a tiny radar detector) to detect the amount of indentation that the air puff causes on the surface of the eye. This indentation is normal and only lasts for a fraction of a second but the downside is the drops make your eyes so sensitive to daylight and poor Ray the sun was shining so he came out squinting away until he got his sun glasses on. Still he wont have it again for another year. The Doctor said that it all looked good. Ray has already had laser treatment to put holes in to relieve any pressure so its good that the op has worked.

These picture capture just how Asbestos just wasn’t treated right from the start as a health risk by the men that worked with it. They make me feel physical sick when I look at them.

Miners playing an asbestos shovelling competition in the West Australian town of Wittenham. All of the men in the image but one have since died from exposure to the deadly mineral 

The snapshot was captured in 1962 in Wittenoom, located 1400kms northeast of Perth in Western Australia. The town was the prime source of blue asbestos in Australia before it was shut down due to rapidly escalating health concerns.

Blue asbestos was used on the roads, pavements, and school playgrounds of the small rural town, wher asbestos pits were offered for children

Robert Vojakovic, the president of the Asbestos Disease Society and a finalist for the 2011 Australian of the Year award, told Daily Mail Australia the competition was a coal mining tradition.

‘It’s a tradition from coal mining towns which started in Australia. The men would race each other to see who could fill the 40 gallon drum first.’

Blue asbestos, which is be 100 times more hazardous than white asbestos, was used on the roads, pavements, and school playgrounds of the small rural town before mining stopped.

Other disturbing images show young children playing in pits of the deadly mineral, completely smothered in the blue powder.

Janelle’s family have publish these photos and it really highlights that Mesothelioma can hit any age. It is far from being just an “Old mans Disease” as so often reported.
In ADAO Interveiw Janelle said –How has asbestos changed your life? I was a 31-year-old wife with a 4-year-old son when I was diagnosed with Pleural Mesothelioma. It started with trouble breathing, pain around my left rib and a constant cough. It was a matter of weeks and I went from being healthy to fighting for my life. I was told I would not survive Mesothelioma, that there was no cure. I decided to have an EPP and I was so thankful it was a success! Since surgery, it has been a long road to recovery. I have come a long way, but I know I will never be the same again. I had a hard time getting off the pain medications and I suffered with severe depression. Some days, I could deal with the new me and other days, it was harder. I just try to continue to improve my life every day. In 2011, I was faced with the reality that the cancer had metastasized into my abdominal cavity. I had debulking surgery with HIPEC. The surgery went well. However, I then learned I was dealing with Restricted Lung disease in my only lung. I now use a BiPAP AVAPS to sleep at night. There has been a lot of hard days, but the ones in between are really great!
We lost this brave US Mesothelioma Warrior in June 19, 2013. So sad but the family continue to raise Awareness and funds for research. They are having to learn to live without our sweet Janelle xx
So many Warriors have been lost and we that wre left have to keep fighting and raising Awareness, that is why I was so pleased that in the Soap awards last night Donna received the award for best Goodbye scene.
Emmerdale: Donna's Goodbye
I didnt agree with the way they had to have her fall of a roof when they had been so great in having her die with mesothelioma. It was a waste of a better story line and the sensationalized the death.

Emmerdale fans have been rocked after Donna Windsor revealed she has a terminal illness.

Donna, who is played by Verity Rushworth, revealed she had been diagnosed with mesothelioma, a rare form of cancer.

Her condition was exposed in the episode after she was taken to hospital by her stepfather Bob Hope (Tony Audenshaw), when she admitted she felt woozy after hitting her head.

But left alone with a doctor, she said that there was nothing that the hospital could do for her and discussed her illness.

Donna, who has returned to the village with her daughter April, said: “I know what’s wrong with me and you’re not going to be able to sort it. I did bang my head, but that’s not why I went dizzy. I’ve got mesothelioma.”

After confirming that her medication sometimes affects her balance, she added: “I have regular check-ups back home. They monitor me – there’s nothing they can do, really. It’s terminal.”

Emmerdale bosses said they chose not to release details of Donna’s illness before the episode, as they wanted the storyline to play out on screen.

Oh Boy there was so much wrong with the story line but we were so pleased that Mesothelioma was being discussed so we turned a blind eye to the faults. They had shown once again that it wasnt an “Old Mans disease”

Read more at http://www.whatsontv.co.uk/emmerdale/news/donna-windsor-reveals-she-has-a-terminal-illness-in-emmerdale#QkwKmBFgmAiYRCcY.99

Leave a Reply

