Living With Meothelioma-My Diary- A Bucket List what does that really mean.


Yesterday was a quiet day the weather was windy and yet warm so the washing dried fast.

The Kent and Sussex Local Paper was asking for photo’s of weddings right through the ages so I chose this one to put in there gallery.

wed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was 1960 and Mum had made all the dresses, well you did in those days. The old treadle machine was always kept busy and Mum and I made our clothes.

The material was bought at the Rochester Market.

But for the dresses for my wedding we shopped at an expensive material shop in Chatham and Mum worked on the machine for long hours as she was a perfectionist, and we had many fittings until she was happy with them.

We did the usual walk with the dog and the clouds were rolling in and out. We just cant seem to shift the grey clouds although today is a better sunny day but rain is forecast for tomorrow. It will be Autumn before we know it and we don’t feel like we have had summer yet.

Lynda Wride put this on her face book — Programme on iPlayer until 18 August – worth watching if you know someone who is terminally ill (or are yourself) xx

Heartwarming documentary in which terminally ill Rowena Kincaid tries to figure out what best to do with the time that remains. She says on her Facebook —

Hi there. My name is Rowena Kincaid.

Last year I was diagnosed with secondary breast cancer. Doctors told me that without treatment I’d likely die within three to six months. Luckily I’m still here, but I’m painfully aware that I’m living on borrowed time.

Everyone keeps asking me “what’s on my bucket list?” They’re shocked when I tell them I don’t have one. But should I have one? Are all terminally ill people expected to have bucket lists? Are they meant to help in some way?

To find out, I’ve convinced the BBC to let me make a film and I’m looking to hear from others in the same boat as me.

If you live in the UK and are living with a terminal illness, I’d really like you to get in touch. It might be that you have a bucket list, or you’re making a bucket list, or you might think that they’re a waste of time and energy. Whatever your thoughts, please email me – lilmissbucketlist@gmail.com

I want this film to raise awareness about the diversity of terminal diseases and about how people live with them day to day. You pass people in the street and would never know anything was wrong. But behind the surface there’s hardship and heartache and laughter and life. And that, ultimately, is what I want to show the world.

Personally, I don’t know what to expect. But I’m determined to live the rest of my life as fully as possible. So please, spread the word and get involved!

Thanks,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b063034k/before-i-kick-the-bucket?fb_ref=Default

What a wonderful Young Woman and so sad to see her plight and yet she is facing it with laughter.

So very young she must have wanted to live all her life in one day. Being older I do agree with some of her points though.I do not rush around I do sit and watch an ant or a blackbird gathering food for her young. I hear a cuckoo and I watch my family sometimes like I watching them through a window. I don’t need a bucket list I need a skip but I need the strength to just enjoy each moment.

I think her being young it is harder it is a little different for the older person  As like Steve Wride we are at 6 years and so Id be worn out by now.

I made a bucket list it was a very quiet one but I have gone through that. So I keep writing and rewriting my bucket list. I have turned my life around and Im Campaigning, Conferences and Social Media are my salvation. Writing everything I can so I leave so much behind for people to read and to learn.

My biggest thing I’m leaving is the cure fo Mesothelioma I have led the way for others to not have the need to write a bucket list.

That is my wish and it takes all my energy.

I met a lovely man last week who wanted to interview me. He dreaded meeting me but by the time I had finished the interview we had laughed so much with jokes flying back and forth it was like being at a party and where were we??? —-outside the Royal Marsden Cancer it doesn’t have to be morbid. This Cancer hospital isnt morbid. Everyone has hope as they go on Phase 1 Trials. No Placebo’s here, they are not welcome


I had put a lot of photos of Asbestos products on FaceBook and Linkedin and it w=raised a lot of comments.

I found a great write up from Ice Asbestos and from This entry was posted in Nationwide Asbestos Removal.

Asbestos Use in Ancient and Medieval Times

Asbestos is usually thought to be an industrial invention, used widely in the 20th century after industrial mining began in the late 1800s. However the history of asbestos goes back much further. People from all over the world have been using for thousands of years for its fire resistance, strength and insulating properties.

One of the earliest found examples of asbestos use comes from the ancient Greeks using asbestos fibres to make the wicks for eternal flames in temples. Ancient Egyptians were also aware of the durability of asbestos and wove it into cloth to strengthen clothing and to wrap the embalmed bodies of their Pharaohs.

Finland is the first country to use it as a building material around 2500 BC. Ruins of log cabins show asbestos being used as insulation. There have also been pots found with asbestos fibres – probably to strengthen and protect.

In a writing from 456 BC, the Greek historian Herodotus described how asbestos shrouds were wrapped around the bodies of the dead before cremation to contain the ashes. It was also commonplace for Roman restaurants to use asbestos table cloths that would be thrown in the fire to clean before the next customer.

Asbestos use started to get a bit more creative In 1095 during the crusades. Trebuchets were used during sieges that flung burning balls of pitch and tar wrapped in asbestos bags over city walls.

Marco Polo even witnessed asbestos being used by Genghis Khan and his Mongolian horde. They made their clothes from a “fabric that would not burn”, apparently woven from the hair of woolly lizards. This was just a fantasy however, and the real source of their clothing was revealed when he visited an asbestos mine in china.

So were these ancient peoples aware of the dangers of Asbestos to health?

Some were, as is shown by Greek geographer Strabo’s notes on slaves who produced asbestos cloth getting a “sickness of the lungs”. Roman historian Pliny the Elder noticed a similar effect, and wrote about the “disease of slaves” describing how miners would use a thin membrane crafted from the bladder of a goat or lamb to protect them from inhaling the dust as they worked. Unfortunately, this knowledge was lost, and when the industrial revolution began in the 1800s, asbestos mining exploded.

asbestos removal services

Another good write up http://www.asbestosfocus.co.uk/history.htm

So isn’t it awful that the dangers have always been known. Why did they think they could get away with it in the modern world. Its all very well saying money but this was, and still is, human lives and as such we deserve better.


 

 

Leave a Reply

