A Diary Of A Messowarrior Living With #Mesothelioma. Australia #Asbestos Awareness Week, Bernie Banton Foundation and Senitor Lisa Singh Start The Ball Rolling


bernie-banton-rod-2

Woke up today to a lovely message from my friend Jonathon Simnett —

Today I had the privilege of attending the Bernie Banton Foundation’s special day. What a privilege it truly was. Your message of support of the event was received with special appreciation and thanks. My best wishes to you and Ray. Regards Jonathan

This was pleasing news that Rod Smith had not only received my Message but had read it out and I had played a part.

My Message said

The Monday of Asbestos Awareness Week is BERNIE BANTON DAY. This year the foundation is holding a Symposium on Malignant Mesothelioma [asbestos cancer], and the presentation of the inaugural Bernie Banton Foundation Awards at the Parliamentary Theatrette, NSW Parliament House, Sydney.

 
I would love to have taken part but I’m in Pommy Land so I would like to send my best wishes for a successful day.
I have suffered with Mesothelioma for 7 years now and in all that time Ray and I have had the friendship of Rod and Karen.
We have helped each other to get through the Pathways of this disease.
It isn’t easy and I know just how hard it is for you to come to terms with the diagnosis and the fight to find treatment.
We cry for everyone that looses the battle and hug those that are surviving
Hopefully coming together and talking with each other and sharing all that is coming in the future we will find the way to the right Treatments and maybe one day the cure.
So have a great day and a great Symposium.
I send my love and hope for the future and Merry Christmas to you all and your families.
Love Mavis a Mesothelioma Warrior.
So it all sounds it was a great success and I hope that spurs Bernie Banton Foundation on to hold this event every year as it raises so much awareness and you know I love doing that.
lou-111
A sad day as well, as Lou fights hard for her life after 14 years of Mesothelioma Peritoneal.
My love goes to her, Keith and the family as she fights on.
I hate the photos of her with Oxygen, as to me these last days should be private but others don’t agree with me.
I know it is the whole story of just how nasty Asbestos is and causes so much damage but as a sufferer and a friend it hurts me to have to see her like this but also it reminds me  just what is ahead as I fight Mesothelioma.
I’m  only human and Im scared.
It reminds me what would have been if I hadn’t taken the chance and agreed to a trial.
I would have been dead 2 years ago.

So many people are behind her in the fight to get the Drug available to many in Australia, they will keep fighting for her,  so it will happen its her Legacy, as it is mine, Keytruda has played a huge part in our Journey, all praise to Merck (MSD) and the wonderful Scientist that discovered Immunotherapy

I sent Lou the message — We have to keep fighting Lou Keytruda has bought us so much extra time to be with our loved ones and wonderful friends. We must use our voice to the end to keep raising awareness of Mesothlioma and Asbestos and also for these drugs that have turned our disease around and will replace Chemo in time.

Thankyou for being my friend in this journey.

So we work with Australia and their Asbestos awareness week I wish this was a global Week so it is up to us to make it so

#asbestos awarenessweek time to shed light on illegal asbestos imports into Oz

 

Leave a Reply

