Mesothelioma Diary- Christmas Shopping today and the continued Awareness of Asbestos in our Schools.


It has been cold outside today and very grey at times Autumn is here very quickly this year but we had a nice ride to Wincheap  Canterbury where I bought a few christmas presents as I have to get started sometime.

We had a good walk round with the dog there.

Ray has loaded my Video up http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8WyB6Nr0pA

It was fun on the river

I have since paid for that as my arms and shoulders have ceased up but blow it it was worth it as I laughed and laughed and I have achieved something thanks to my friend Linda –bless her.

My Blog has just reached 50,000 hits. That makes me very happy that people are willing to read what I have written and that I have been part of Asbestos Awareness and the pain that Asbestos causes.

The suffering of patients and the suffering that causes so many families and friends. My love goes to them all and I pray the cure is found soon. Im proud I have played a part. I could have sat back and felt so sorry for myself but that wouldnt have kept my friends around me., supporting me to live my life to the full, to make memories, as I call it and thats how I find everyone who has Mesothelioma, all of them careing for each other and helping each other and their families to get through the best we can.

Miles has been having a lovely time with us and he is a lovely Bear, a pleasure to have in the house.

On a more serious note we have found this Video on Facebook http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYvbUg6z89k&feature=share

We have always been saying that the Asbestos in our Schools is so bad as the buildings are old and the asbestos is in the ceilings and walls.

http://asbestosexposureschools.co.uk/

The aim of this site is to inform parents, teachers and support staff about asbestos in schools. It gives guidance on how to improve the management of asbestos in schools. It aims to encourage openness in the UK Government’s policy towards asbestos in schools.

If asbestos is damaged or deteriorating then the fibres can be released and breathed in. Mesothelioma is a cancer that is almost exclusively caused by exposure to asbestos. A large exposure can cause mesothelioma and so can small exposures, particularly as each exposure is cumulative. There is no known threshold below which there is no risk. Lung cancer can also be caused by exposure to asbestos but it is considered that the exposures will normally have to be greater than the very low levels in the case of mesothelioma.

The majority of schools contain asbestos. The teaching unions consider that total removal is the safest option, whereas the Government consider that “managing” asbestos is the best system.  If asbestos is in a good condition and undamaged then an effective system of management can be effective. However there is increasing evidence that a significant number of schools are not managing their asbestos effectively, and that in many cases the asbestos is not in good condition. Much of it is hidden and a normal asbestos survey will not identify the fact that fibres are being given off, only comprehensive air-testing can determine that.

The effective management of asbestos in schools is essential because children are particularly vulnerable to developing disease after an exposure to asbestos.

We back this site 100% and we will be meeting AIS at the October Conference in the Novotel Hotel at the Patient and Carers Conference so I will be reporting more about this.

Rays Blog http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/just-a-bit-of-shopping/

One thought on “Mesothelioma Diary- Christmas Shopping today and the continued Awareness of Asbestos in our Schools.

Leave a comment