Mesothelioma Diary My Diary –Day 6 week 6 of the Chemo and Drug Trial –Red Sails in the Sunset !!!!


Gosh Im exhausted it has been a really awful medical day and Im tired right out.

First Ray went to the Diabetic clinic for 10am this morning so I stayed home and tidied up and di the housework.

In Ray came and I shouted out well how has it gone?? Whoops no answer, I peeked around the door and looked at him. It seem everything has gone haywire, Blood pressure, Blood Sugars which is such a shame as he has kept it all so well for 10 years now.

The nurse agrees he has been under so much pressure lately with me and my hospital visits that he hasnt been eating regular and the right things.

He has some more tablets now and we have got all the diabetic cook books out so we are going to get back on track for him.

We had our soup and walked the dog so that we were already to go to Maidstone to have my bloods done and then to see Dr Shar to talk.

We arrived and taking a ticket and getting my blood taken was the easy part.

We went to the main hospital and sat and waited and waited.

The nurse came to see me and I was weighed then had my blood pressure taken  and we had a chat about how I felt. I then filled up a chart about how my life was ie Appetite, and breathing and all that sort of thing.

I sat back and continued waiting as other patients went in, apoor man with a bottle of oxygen as a friend.

I heard another lady talking about the trial and I tried to catch her eye but it was hard and then i went in to see the Doc and he said ” you are doing so well as your bloods are perfect” I had no other problems just some pain thats always there so it was shaking hand time.

We had sat there for 2 hours for 4mins talking. Hmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!

When we came out and I spoke to the lady asking her if I could be nosy and was she going on the Trial, which she said yes to and I explained how I was on it now, she was so pleased i had said and she asked me a lot of questions and I put he mind at rest.

She was really pleased I had spoken up and I said I will see her when she gets to the trial on Thusrday.

It was so dark when we got outside and raining so heavy, what miserable night and we traveled home in the rush hour traffic.

I have to do this all over again on Thursday as i have a scan in the morning and treatment in the afternoon.

We got home and had a meat pie I had made this morning, thank goodness I did.

On the TV they are talking about a film showing at Faversham at about the Red sailed tall ships  http://www.cwideprods.co.uk/red-sails-clips/

Red Sails

Red Sails is a documentary which explores through interviews and archive footage, the influence of the Thames Sailing Barge in the development of trade, and its contribution to the building of Victorian London. It also looks in detail at the craftsmen and their trades, which made the Thames barge so unique. A few have become barge yachts for chartering, but the Thames barge lives on through the recent restoration of one of the most famous: the Cambria.

Relaunching of the Thames Sailing Barge Cambria

Last November, we posted about the rebuilding of thelast commercial Thames sailing barge, Cambria. The reconstruction is nearing its completion. Tomorrow, Monday 21st March, 2011, the Cambria will be relaunched into Faversham Creek, and move downstream to Iron Wharf to complete fitting-out.

CAMBRIA News: Today is the our day

The only sad note to the otherwise happy occasion, is that the future of the apprentice program at  Standard Quay, where the Cambria was rebuilt, is now  in doubt.  From the Standard Quay MARCH 20, 2011 website:

The apprenticeship scheme is now in severe danger as, rather than being now firmly established with the apprentices continuing to work on other large wooden vessels in desperate need of the skills they have learned, the doubtful future of Standard Quay has led to the work being halted. Projects already booked in to the dry docks will keep them busy until the middle of June, but after that, the future looks bleak.The apprenticeship scheme is now in severe danger as, rather than being now firmly established with the apprentices continuing to work on other large wooden vessels in desperate need of the skills they have learned, the doubtful future of Standard Quay has led to the work being halted. Projects already booked in to the dry docks will keep them busy until the middle of June, but after that, the future looks bleak.

Red Sails - Free Screening - 7th December 2011 - Photograph copyright Peter Smith

The Cabby

I will be going to see this  as I love seeing these ships at Faversham and as they race around the Isle of Sheppey in the summer. so thats something to look forward to.

http://mesoandme.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/my-claim-to-fame/  Rays Blog tonight x

4 thoughts on “Mesothelioma Diary My Diary –Day 6 week 6 of the Chemo and Drug Trial –Red Sails in the Sunset !!!!

  1. Quote: “Gosh Im exhausted it has been a really awful medical day and Im tired right out”.

    Hoi!! missus,

    Get yer undercarriage parked, put on a movie and take it easy, tell Ray as well. Hope all is well,

    Much love Bill, (a.k.a.) Sand-boy.

    PS: Woof woof to the dug!!

  2. I dare you try and watch just one episode of the Tudors, if you don’t get hooked, your on the wrong channel. It was the same for me years ago when I first watched the Sopranos. said to myself will just watch two eppies a night, more like one season per night.

    Reference the Lentil Shloop with lots of pulses, that might just turn a round and bite bum.

    Thinking abiut ya Cyber-Hunn, you take it easy.

    Much Love Bill X X X

Leave a comment