A Diary OF A #Mesowarrior Living With #Mesothelioma from #asbestos — A trail completed, two shock awards #Kentnews


It has been a very busy and interesting time for us lately.

I was put into the System 2 trial for pain. I had 2 weeks of radiotherapy as I was randomized to the strong group. I have found that the pain has subsided well and life has been easier.

I have had two falls since so I wondered if it has weakened me in someway. I have reported everything to my MesoUk nurse and I have written everything down to take to my follow up appointment.

Lucky enough the first fall was in front of an ambulance so I had first class help and treatment. The second time was on Sunday and two neighbours helped me back up. I did feel so silly.

So I have ordered some good shoes and I promise to always use my stick now.

I had already received the IOSH Presidential Award and was shocked as Jim Quinn and Bev Messenger presented award on a zoom call with Linda Reinstein of ADAO and myself both in shock.

It was for the work we do for NTTL No Time To Lose.

No alternative text description for this image

As if this wasnt enough I had a email to say I was being honoured in the Queens Birthday Honours List. You are sworn to secrecy and that was so hard as you want to tell all the family and friends.

So proud and to receive the BEM though and hope COVID allows us to go to the Garden Party to receive the medal. As I accept in the name of all the Mesowarriors past and present we need this publicity for the terrible disease we have found ourselves with that was so preventable.

Im so pleased that Mesothelioma Awareness is in the Queens Honours list.

My son and DL came down and sunk our new little pond so Saturday was a lovely day of having company at last and we all enjoyed the day.

We hope it will attract frogs, birds and hedgehogs that used to visit our larger pond that we filled in as the heron just wouldnt stop pinching our fish.

So that is a quick catch up.

Our next big date is July 2nd for Action Meso Day as we have been working so hard behind the scenes bring this day to the fore.

actionmeso.org

2 thoughts on “A Diary OF A #Mesowarrior Living With #Mesothelioma from #asbestos — A trail completed, two shock awards #Kentnews

Leave a comment