Living With Mesothelioma -My Diary – Windy but a nice day. Goodbye to a Mesowarrior and Robin Williams


Goodnight Robbie Williams and thankyou for all the laughter  you have given me

427461_385409074818184_100000472859203_1477519_1564910131_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We say goodbye to  John Beddoes a wonderful brave Mesowarrior. Love to Pauline and Family xxx

t has been a day of emails and phone calls with so many messages on Facebook. Lots of celebrating and so many kind words.

Now I have to carryon and hope this wonderful shrinkage goes on and on.

I can now realax until the next scan.

I do get the number of the trial muddled. Phase 1B study of MK-3475-28 I still cant find any publication of my Mesothelioma trial I have the Marsden sheets thats all.

I forgot Im also on a Future Biomedical Research Sub Study.

Thats why everything they take from my body-all fluids, blood samples, tissue samples etc etc they keep as I have signed myself over as a true guinea pig.

The purpose of my study is to find out more about what causes disease and the difference in the way people respond to drugs. The look at the samples and how the relate to the way drugs work and relate to human disease and health.

They study my genes which are found in my DNA.

Also the patterns of those genes by studying My RNA http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RNA

Ribonucleic acid (RNA) is a family of large biological molecules that perform multiple vital roles in the coding, decoding, regulation, and expression of genes. Together with DNA, RNA comprises the nucleic acids, which, along with proteins, constitute the three major macromolecules essential for all known forms of life. Like DNA, RNA is assembled as a chain of nucleotides, but is usually single-stranded. Cellular organisms use messenger RNA (mRNA) to convey genetic information (often notated using the letters G, A, U, and C for the nucleotides guanine, adenine, uracil and cytosine) that directs synthesis of specific proteins, while many viruses encode their genetic information using an RNA genome.

Some RNA molecules play an active role within cells by catalyzing biological reactions, controlling gene expression, or sensing and communicating responses to cellular signals. One of these active processes isprotein synthesis, a universal function whereby mRNA molecules direct the assembly of proteins on ribosomes. This process uses transfer RNA (tRNA) molecules to deliver amino acids to the ribosome, whereribosomal RNA (rRNA) links amino acids together to form proteins.

Each person has the same set of genes – about 20,000 in all. The differences between people come from slight variations in these genes. For example, a person with red hair doesn’t have the “red hair gene” while a person with brown hair has the “brown hair gene.” Instead, all people have genes for hair color, and different versions of these genes dictate whether someone will be a redhead or a brunette. Genes can also determine how we handle different drugs and if we are at higher risk os certain diseases like cancer.

So they are testing me for all the genetic diseases or find out if Im at risk of having a genetic disease.

Fascinating stuff and I always wanted them to look at my genes and Rays to see why I have Mesothelioma and he doesnt.

My samples will be stored for 20 years to be used and then destroyed. Its a shame but I wont get any results. But hey Im just pleased Im helping. it tickles me they will save my wee samples for years –phewwww !!!

All very interesting.

I really thought that as Liz from Meso Uk had helped it would be portrayed so well. Ray said today. After hearing Donna would die this week, Its an insult to all you mesowarriors and carers and Im very unhappy about it. He surprised me as I didnt know he was watching it. What a shame. So much awareness but a very bad job.

I will get very angry as I watch but watch I will.

Ray hasnt written his blog yet so I will get him to write his feelings tonight x

We did get out with Louis in the park and had a walk in the wind. I did manage it and breathing was easier.

Came home and a lady from garden squirrels called as i had phoned her. We went through all the things that I wanted out of my front garden so plans have been made to tidy the garden.

Plans  love them it gives you a future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment